So Many Questions, We Have Stopped Asking New Ones. (by Diego Fdez-Sevilla, PhD)


So many questions, we have stopped asking new ones. (by Diego Fdez-Sevilla, PhD)

kevin-kelly-at-diego-fdez-sevilla-phd

 

 

Machines will have answers. What humans are good at are questions. Kevin Kelly.

 

 

 

Through the years interacting in conferences with other fellow scientists, as well as in social media throughout blogs and discussion groups at LinkedIn, I often have felt that in a short period of time, any subject proposed for discussion ends up focusing on the same questions followed by the same answers, over and over again.

That is a social pattern which can be found in many fields, from politics to religion, from climate to the meaning of love and sex.

In previous posts I have written about the role of perception as a driver creating a bias in all the fields which sustain our understanding of the world and every one of its parts. From scientific thought and data analyses to policies and governments. I have also shared my point of view over AI and its fears.

I have also been very critic with the posture over climatic developments taking variations of Temperature as the major and more relevant issue in any climatic assessment. I don´t see it that way. If you see temperature dropping when it should not, be aware that something is falling elsewhere (water or a tree). This energy does not disappear.

Recently I have been aware of a publication from Kevin Kelly on AI with a phrase which resume a situation which I have considered part of the situation on the scientific debate about “how can it move forward”.

Machines will have answers. What humans are good at are questions. Kevin Kelly.

My problem with the approach suggested by Kevin is that I have my doubts over the capacity for the humans to see beyond their our sense of accomplishment from developing technology and gathering huge amounts of data.

In 240 B.C., the Greek astronomer Eratosthenes made the first good measurement of the size of Earth with a “stick” and a “shovel.”

That will not happen today. Without a satellite, an algorithm and a renowned institution backing your thoughts, ideas and discoveries are buried in technology and complexity.

One day somebody might realise that there is never going to be enough data, so producing data will be the new form of scientific consumerism focused on creating technologies, data and complex calculations pricing those achievements as the pinnacle of science, leaving behind the task of finding answers as a secondary goal. And the answer will be 42.

We will end up realising that we have enough data (more than we can digest) but we lack patterns of thought.

scientific-collapse

About Diego Fdez-Sevilla, PhD.

Citing This Site "Title", published online "Month"+"Year", retrieved on "Month""Day", "Year" from http://www.diegofdezsevilla.wordpress.com. By Diego Fdez-Sevilla, PhD. More guidance on citing this web as a source can be found at NASA webpage: http://solarsystem.nasa.gov/bibliography/citations#! DOIs can be generated on demand by request by email: d.fdezsevilla(at)gmail.com for those publications missing at the ResearchGate profile vinculated with this project. Author´s profile: Bachelor in General Biology, Masters degree "Licenciado" in Environmental Sciences (2001, Spain). PhD in Aerobiology (2007, UK). Lived, acquired training and worked in Spain, UK, Germany and Poland. I have shared the outcome from my previous work as scientific speaker in events held in those countries as well as in Switzerland and Finland. After couple of years performing research and working in institutions linked with environmental research and management, I find myself in a period of transition searching for a new position or funding to support my research. In the present competitive scenario, instead of just moving my cv and wait for my next opportunity to arrive, I have decided to invest also my energy and time in opening my own line of research showing what I am capable of. The value of the data and the original nature of the research presented in this blog has proved to be worthy of consideration by the scientific community as well as for publication in scientific journals. However, without a position as member of an institution, it becomes very challenging to be published. I hope that this handicap do not overshadow the value of my work and the intellectual rights represented by the license of attribution attached are respected and considered by the scientist involved in this line of research. Any comment and feedback aimed to be constructive is welcome. In this blog I publish pieces of research focused on addressing relevant environmental questions. Furthermore, I try to break the barrier that academic publications very often offer isolating scientific findings from the general public. In that way I address those topics which I am familiar with, thanks to my training in environmental research, making them available throughout my posts. (see "Framework and Timeline" for a complete index). At this moment, 2017, I am living in Spain with no affiliation attachments. Free to relocate geographically worldwide. If you feel that I could be a contribution to your institution, team and projects don´t hesitate in contact me at d.fdezsevilla (at) gmail.com or consult my profile at LinkedIn, ResearchGate and Academia.edu. Also, I'd appreciate information about any opportunity that you might know and believe it could match with my aptitudes. The conclusions and ideas expressed in each post as part of my own creativity are part of my Intellectual Portfolio and are protected by Intellectual Property Laws. Licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial conditions. In citing my work from this website, be sure to include the date of access. (c)Diego Fdez-Sevilla, PhD, 2017. Filling in or Finding Out the gaps around. Publication accessed 20YY-MM-DD at http://www.diegofdezsevilla.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Filling in, Opinion and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to So Many Questions, We Have Stopped Asking New Ones. (by Diego Fdez-Sevilla, PhD)

  1. Pingback: “The Answer to the Ultimate Question of Life, the Universe, and Everything” is … 42 (by Diego Fdez-Sevilla, PhD) | Diego Fdez-Sevilla, PhD.

  2. Pingback: RECAP 9Dec16 on previous assessments (by Diego Fdez-Sevilla, PhD) | Diego Fdez-Sevilla, PhD.

  3. Pingback: Wind conditions 250 hPa Jet Stream. What a Mess. (by Diego Fdez-Sevilla PhD) | Diego Fdez-Sevilla, PhD.

  4. Pingback: Worst than a change is a pattern of no change ( by Diego Fdez-Sevilla, PhD) | Diego Fdez-Sevilla, PhD.

  5. Pingback: Orbital Melting vs Kinetic Melting (by Diego Fdez-Sevilla, PhD) | Diego Fdez-Sevilla, PhD.

  6. Pingback: The value of having a point of view (by Diego Fdez-Sevilla PhD) | Diego Fdez-Sevilla, PhD.

  7. Pingback: Temp Displacements. Solid Water In A Dessert Which Is Not At The Poles. (By Diego Fdez-Sevilla, PhD) | Diego Fdez-Sevilla, PhD.

  8. Pingback: Following The Herd on Assessing Climatic Dynamics (by Diego Fdez-Sevilla PhD) | Diego Fdez-Sevilla, PhD.

  9. Pingback: Breaking Stereotypes Assessing Climatic Dynamics (by Diego Fdez-Sevilla PhD) | Diego Fdez-Sevilla, PhD.

Leave a Reply

