Biotic players and atmospheric processes. Another piece of the puzzle. (by Diego Fdez-Sevilla)


 In Nov 13 2013 Nature News released an article pointing out that Scientists have discovered that a humble species of bacteria may play a major role in producing planetary climates by “seeding” clouds with ice-producing proteins.

Scientists have known for decades that bacterial species such as Pseudomonas syringae produce proteins on their outer membranes that somehow enable water to freeze at higher-than-usual temperatures. These proteins cause ice to form on plants, damaging the plant’s tissues and allowing the bacteria to invade and feed. But when the bacteria die, ice-forming proteins can enter the atmosphere and actually cause rain to form in the clouds above. Because these bacteria are so prolific, they may have a significant effect on the global climate.

In June I wrote a post in my blog about “Biological Productivity and its Influence on Cloud Formation.” I guess the work carried out by the German Scientists can be linked with this post as part of the debate on the influence of Biotic performance in atmospheric systems.

About Diego Fdez-Sevilla, PhD.

Citing This Site "Title", published online "Month"+"Year", retrieved on "Month""Day", "Year" from http://www.diegofdezsevilla.wordpress.com. By Diego Fdez-Sevilla, PhD. More guidance on citing this web as a source can be found at NASA webpage: http://solarsystem.nasa.gov/bibliography/citations#! Bachelor in General Biology, Masters degree "Licenciado" in Environmental Sciences (2001, Spain). PhD in Aerobiology (2007, UK). Lived, acquired training and worked in Spain, UK, Germany and Poland. I have shared the outcome from my previous work as scientific speaker in events held in those countries as well as in Switzerland and Finland. After couple of years performing research and working in institutions linked with environmental research and management, I find myself in a period of transition searching for a new position or funding to support my research. In the present competitive scenario, instead of just moving my cv and wait for my next opportunity to arrive, I have decided to invest also my energy and time in opening my own line of research showing what I am capable of. The value of the data and the original nature of the research presented in this blog has proved to be worthy of consideration by the scientific community as well as for publication in scientific journals. However, without a position as member of an institution, it becomes very challenging to be published. I hope that this handicap do not overshadow the value of my work and the intellectual rights represented by the license of attribution attached are respected and considered by the scientist involved in this line of research. Any comment and feedback aimed to be constructive is welcome. In this blog I publish pieces of research focused on addressing relevant environmental questions. Furthermore, I try to break the barrier that academic publications very often offer isolating scientific findings from the general public. In that way I address those topics which I am familiar with, thanks to my training in environmental research, making them available throughout my posts. (see "Framework and Timeline" for a complete index). At this moment, 2017, I am living in Spain with no affiliation attachments. Free to relocate geographically worldwide. If you feel that I could be a contribution to your institution, team and projects don´t hesitate in contact me at d.fdezsevilla (at) gmail.com or consult my profile at LinkedIn, ResearchGate and Academia.edu. Also, I'd appreciate information about any opportunity that you might know and believe it could match with my aptitudes. The conclusions and ideas expressed in each post as part of my own creativity are part of my Intellectual Portfolio and are protected by Intellectual Property Laws. Licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial conditions. In citing my work from this website, be sure to include the date of access. (c)Diego Fdez-Sevilla, PhD, 2016. Filling in or Finding Out the gaps around. Publication accessed 20YY-MM-DD at http://www.diegofdezsevilla.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Aerobiology, Aerosols, Biological productivity, Environmental Resilience, Extreme climatic events, Filling in, Influence of Continentality, News and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Biotic players and atmospheric processes. Another piece of the puzzle. (by Diego Fdez-Sevilla)

  1. Pingback: Following the steps of water vapour in climatic events (By Diego Fdez-Sevilla) | diego fdez-sevilla

  2. Pingback: Extreme Climatic Events of 2013. AMS Report (by Diego Fdez-Sevilla) | diego fdez-sevilla

  3. Pingback: A Groundhog forecast on climate at the North Hemisphere. (by Diego Fdez-Sevilla) | diego fdez-sevilla

  4. Pingback: Energy in our environmental systems. Follow-up on previous assessments. (by Diego Fdez-Sevilla, Ph.D.) | Diego Fdez-Sevilla, PhD.

Leave a Reply

