2013. Hot topics and thoughts identified in environmental science from public access media. (by Diego Fdez-Sevilla)


2013. Hot topics and thoughts identified in environmental science from public access media. (by Diego Fdez-Sevilla)

DOI: 10.13140/RG.2.1.3308.1200

I believe that it is important to keep active digesting information from different sources and points of view in order to have a well-informed criteria. Accordingly, I keep constantly researching on topics which satisfy my curiosity and that at the same time I consider of certain relevance in the field of environmental sciences.

From my search through public media in 2013 I selected several links pointing to what under my point of view were hot topics addressing relevant environmental issues. But also with the links, there are some topics in which I have incorporated my take on it. Since I am just searching for answers I am well aware that some of my points of view might lack of enough information. My only intention is to share my thoughts and seek participation and feedback in order to fill in or find out gaps of knowledge. For this reason, most of this topics are part of previous discussions which I started, in LinkedIn, generating some very interesting discussions.

Following same idea of generating multidisciplinary feedback, in October 2013 I started this blog at wordpress. Just trying to share what I know by “Filling in” as well as trying to enhance my own knowledge by “Finding out” gaps of knowledge. I would like your participation either to “fill in” information or by “finding out” gaps which you might consider missing the required attention.

I hope that the topics that I point out here and the links associated are of interest for all of you. Also I wish that you might find interesting my points of view, thoughts and sharing. Feel free to contact me with comments if you feel like it.

My profile foundations are set on Environmental Biology (5 years University degree) and Aerobiology (PhD). I have a strong sense of methodological care when approaching any subject. I deeply believe that many times the answer might be in finding the right question.

I am at this moment with no affiliation attachments searching for new projects, free to relocate geographically worldwide so, if you have any question or comment please don´t hesitate in contact me at my email. d.fdezsevilla (at) gmail.com

Diego Fernàndez Sevilla. Dr./Ph.D.

The report in pdf format can be accessed at Research Gate:

2013_Hot_topics_in_Environmental_Sciences. DOI: 10.13140/RG.2.1.3308.1200

Report Index:

Climate_ 3

Climate variability and energy balance_ 3

++Global warming brings on more pollen_ 4

Gathering information is often the first step towards preparing for climate change related threats.6

(29-04-2013 WHO) Findings of the WHO/Europe project on climate.7

(09-09-2013 WHO) Health and Environment in the WHO European region: Creating resilient communities and supportive environments8

Mission: ACRIDICON halo-db.tropos.de_ 8

HALO-DB, the web platform of a data retrieval and long-term archive system_ 9

Climate change impacts, vulnerability and adaptation_ 9

The science of climate change has led international EU-funded researchers to an area thought to be responsible for redistributing and controlling heat around the globe.10

Aerobiology_ 11

The significance of air pollution in aerobiology_ 11

REVIHAAP (Review of evidence on health aspects of air pollution) and HRAPIE (Health risks of air pollution in Europe),11

Air Quality Standards11

++ Is pollen a pollutant?_ 11

EFANET. Call to Action: Raise Awareness, Relieve the Burden of Respiratory Allergies in Europe.13

PRESS RELEASE: We need to secure real-time pollen monitoring in…13

The European pollen diary is an important long-term Europe-wide study that will significantly aid research into pollen and hay fever14

Some reading to help understanding the impact of human activity in the load (concentration) and health related properties of atmospheric biological particles such as Pollen and Spores.14

A new initiative of the CSTE/SEHIC Asthma work group is surveillance of pollen and its relationship to respiratory conditions, such as asthma, in the United States. Environmental Health Indicators: Asthma_ 15

++SEHIC established a workgroup to determine indicators of climate change recognizing Pollen as one Environmental Health Indicator for Climate Change_ 16

++Links to Climate Change and Longer, Stronger Allergy Seasons18

Changes to Airborne Pollen Counts across Europe_ 18

++Understanding seasonal allergy_ 18

++ Visualization of the Urban-heat-island-effect responsible for alterations in the pollen seasons of common allergenic species.19

**   Resistance to glyphosate has emerged in several different weed species.19

Assessing and controlling the spread and the effects of Common ragweed in Europe. Ecosystem Services and Biodiversity Assessment.21

++Potential impacts of climate change and climate variability on aeroallergens21

++Health and environment in the WHO European region: creating resilient communities and supportive environments  22

Science Gov.23

NASA Technical Reports Server23

Air Quality_ 24

EUROPA Press Release Speech: “Only one air” europa.eu.24

Environment25

++EUROPA Press Release: Commissioners Janez Potočnik and Connie Hedegaard welcome the trilogue agreement on the new Environment Action Programme to 2020 europa.eu_ 25

Proposal for a new EU Environment Action Programme to 2020_ 25

Allergy_ 26

Feather pillows can cause a chronic and eventually fatal breath shortness disease according to a Catalan study.26

Waste management26

++Packaging and Packaging Waste Proposals New EU Proposal to reduce plastic bag consumption.26

Particle sampling_ 27

‘HOLLOW PARTICLES in the ATMOSPHERE–大气空心粒子的发现 If hollow particles are common in the atmosphere, then instruments that measure pt size cannot be used to obtain particle mass.(TSP)  27

About Diego Fdez-Sevilla, PhD.

Citing This Site "Title", published online "Month"+"Year", retrieved on "Month""Day", "Year" from http://www.diegofdezsevilla.wordpress.com. By Diego Fdez-Sevilla, PhD. More guidance on citing this web as a source can be found at NASA webpage: http://solarsystem.nasa.gov/bibliography/citations#! Bachelor in General Biology, Masters degree "Licenciado" in Environmental Sciences (2001, Spain). PhD in Aerobiology (2007, UK). Lived, acquired training and worked in Spain, UK, Germany and Poland. I have shared the outcome from my previous work as scientific speaker in events held in those countries as well as in Switzerland and Finland. After couple of years performing research and working in institutions linked with environmental research and management, I find myself in a period of transition searching for a new position or funding to support my research. In the present competitive scenario, instead of just moving my cv and wait for my next opportunity to arrive, I have decided to invest also my energy and time in opening my own line of research showing what I am capable of. The value of the data and the original nature of the research presented in this blog has proved to be worthy of consideration by the scientific community as well as for publication in scientific journals. However, without a position as member of an institution, it becomes very challenging to be published. I hope that this handicap do not overshadow the value of my work and the intellectual rights represented by the license of attribution attached are respected and considered by the scientist involved in this line of research. Any comment and feedback aimed to be constructive is welcome. In this blog I publish pieces of research focused on addressing relevant environmental questions. Furthermore, I try to break the barrier that academic publications very often offer isolating scientific findings from the general public. In that way I address those topics which I am familiar with, thanks to my training in environmental research, making them available throughout my posts. (see "Framework and Timeline" for a complete index). At this moment, 2017, I am living in Spain with no affiliation attachments. Free to relocate geographically worldwide. If you feel that I could be a contribution to your institution, team and projects don´t hesitate in contact me at d.fdezsevilla (at) gmail.com or consult my profile at LinkedIn, ResearchGate and Academia.edu. Also, I'd appreciate information about any opportunity that you might know and believe it could match with my aptitudes. The conclusions and ideas expressed in each post as part of my own creativity are part of my Intellectual Portfolio and are protected by Intellectual Property Laws. Licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial conditions. In citing my work from this website, be sure to include the date of access. (c)Diego Fdez-Sevilla, PhD, 2017. Filling in or Finding Out the gaps around. Publication accessed 20YY-MM-DD at http://www.diegofdezsevilla.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Aerobiology, Aerosols, Air, Biological productivity, Cultural Cognition, Energy Balance, Environmental Resilience, Extreme climatic events, Filling in, Finding out, GMO's, Influence of Continentality, Inland Water Bodies and Water Cycle, News, Opinion, Polar vortex and Jet Stream, Solar activity, Water vapour and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

